Get to Know Flyhomie Amanda!

What do you do at Flyhomes? Lead local marketing initiatives in LA, SF, Portland, Seattle, and Boston.

What did you do before joining Flyhomes? I worked for AWS, running the technical events program at the AWS Lofts in San Francisco and New York. The program was created to give developers/engineers free, hands-on experience through technical workshops and sessions relating to AWS services. 

What’s something unexpected that you’ve learned on the job? Billboard advertising is best with 7 words or less. 

What’s your #1 tip for homebuyers? Don’t be so afraid that you don’t move forward with the process. I bought on my own before getting married. My goal was to buy before I turned 30, and it was challenging and scary to do in California, but it was so worth it! If you are nervous, a good support system is key to getting you through the stress of closing (I closed on Christmas Eve). 

How do you like to spend time when you’re not working? I like to escape the Bay by going up to Tahoe and spending time outside with my husband, Noah, and dog, Bear. I also love traveling, refinishing vintage furniture, bowling, drawing, and knitting. Any DIY project at home is my jam. 

What’s something about you that surprises people? I originally studied vocal performance and am trained classically (think Opera). 

Pets, plants, or both? What makes you happy at home? Both! Our dog brings us so much joy, and when we moved out of the city we were able to start a small garden on our patio. We now have two fruit trees, tomatoes, basil, and strawberries growing. We also just purchased a few baby/dog friendly plants for our nursery. 

What neighborhood do you live in? Where else have you lived? Point Richmond! I’ve lived in many places; San Francisco and Santa Monica in California. Before I moved out to California I lived in Virginia for school, but grew up in a suburb outside Chicago. Variety is the spice of life!

What’s your favorite place in Richmond? Spill a best-kept neighborhood secret spot (where do the locals go?) We love East Brother’s Brewery and The New Snapper’s Seafood Restaurant (cajun/creole)! 

What do you love most about your home? Our large patio, as it allows us to have friends over, grill, and have a small garden. After living in the city for 9 years, outdoor space was a must!


Let’s chat!